Bruce Carter Elected AAAE Chair

Director of Aviation, Bruce Carter,

Elected Chair for AAAE

Alexandria, Va. -- Bruce Carter, A.A.E., Director of Aviation at Quad City International Airport in Moline, Ill., took office May 2 as Chair of the American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE) for 2012-2013.

Bruce Carter Elected Chair 2012-2013 AAAECarter was one of six Executive Committee Members and five new Board Members elected by the AAAE membership during the 84th Annual AAAE Conference and Exposition, held April 29-May 2 in Phoenix and hosted by Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

"AAAE's success representing airports over its eight-plus decades is a tribute to the continuing contributions made by the association's exceptional volunteer leaders," AAAE President Chip Barclay said. "The outstanding collection of leaders chosen by their peers to lead the association for the next year will continue this rich tradition. Our Board is a cross-section of the industry, both geographically and in terms of airport size, putting AAAE in an ideal position to effectively represent the airport industry in the year ahead and well into the future."

Joining Carter on the Executive Committee are Mark Brewer, A.A.E., Airport Director, Manchester-Boston Regional Airport, elected First Vice Chair; Randall Berg, Director of Airport Operations, Salt Lake City Department of Airports, elected Second Vice Chair; and Jeffrey Mulder, A.A.E., Airport Director, Tulsa Airport Authority, elected Secretary/Treasurer. Kelly L. Johnson, A.A.E., Airport Director of the Northwest Arkansas Regional Airport, is AAAE's First Past Chair, and James Bennett, A.A.E., CEO, Abu Dhabi Airports Company, rounds out the Executive Committee as Second Past Chair.

Newly elected AAAE Board Members are Luis Elguezabal, A.A.E., Airport Director, San Angelo Regional Airport; Michael Landguth, A.A.E., Airport Director, Raleigh-Durham Airport Authority; Gina Marie Lindsey, C.M., Executive Director, Los Angeles World Airports; Alfred Pollard, A.A.E., Director, Martin State Airport; and Marshall Stevens, A.A.E.; Deputy Executive Director, Harrisburg International Airport.

Board Members continuing their service are Scott Brockman, A.A.E., Executive Vice President & COO, Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority; Ann Crook, A.A.E., Airport Manager, Elmira Corning Regional Airport; Rod Dinger, A.A.E., Airport Manager, Redding Municipal Airport; Timothy Doll, A.A.E., Airport Director, Eugene Airport; Mark Gale, A.A.E., CEO, Philadelphia International Airport; Claudia Holliway, National Aviation Business Developer, THE LPA GROUP, a unit of Michael Baker Corp.; Stacy Hollowell, Senior Marketing Manager, Siemens; Kim W. Hopper, A.A.E., Airport Manager, Portsmouth International Airport; Phillip Johnson, A.A.E., Deputy Executive Director, Kent County Department of Aeronautics; Todd McNamee, A.A.E., Director of Airports, Ventura County Department of Airports; Carl Newman, A.A.E., Assistant Aviation Director, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport; Torrance Richardson, A.A.E., VP Government Affairs & Strategy, Columbus Regional Airport Authority; Walter Strong, A.A.E., Administrator, Max Westheimer Airport, University of Oklahoma; Alvin Stuart, A.A.E., Superintendent of Operations, Salt Lake City International Airport; and Paul Wiedefeld, Executive Director, Maryland Aviation Administration.

Added to the AAAE Policy Review Committee (PRC) was Jim Elwood, A.A.E., Airport Director, Aspen/Pitkin County Airport. Continuing their service as PRC members are Bonnie Allin, A.A.E., President/CEO, Tucson Airport Authority; Rosemarie Andolino, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Aviation; William Barkhauer, A.A.E., Executive Director, Morristown Municipal Airport; Krys Bart, A.A.E., President & CEO, Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority; Thella Bowens, President & CEO, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority; Larry Cox, A.A.E., President & CEO, Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority; Alfonso Denson, A.A.E., President & CEO, Birmingham Airport Authority; Mario Diaz, Airport Director; Houston Airport System; Kevin Dillon, A.A.E., President & CEO, Rhode Island Airport Corp.; Thomas Greer, A.A.E., General Manager; Monterey Peninsula Airport District; Gary Johnson, C.M., Airport Director, Stillwater Regional Airport; Lynn Kusy, C.M., Executive Director; Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport; Ronald Mathieu, C.M., Executive Director, Bill and Hillary Clinton National Airport; Erin O'Donnell, Managing Deputy Commissioner, Chicago Midway International Airport; Bradley Penrod, A.A.E., Executive Director/CEO, Allegheny County Airport Authority; Elaine Roberts, A.A.E., President & CEO, Columbus Regional Airport Authority; Ricky Smith, Director of Airports, Cleveland Airport System; Susan Stevens, A.A.E.; Director of Airports, Charleston County Aviation Authority; and Mark VanLoh, A.A.E., Director of Aviation, Kansas City Aviation Department.

Some 1,800 aviation industry leaders, including representatives from more than 200 airports, attended the 84th Annual AAAE Conference and Exposition. Highlighting the agenda were keynote presentations from Congressman Ed Pastor (D-Ariz.), NTSB Chairman Deborah Hersman, TSA Administrator John Pistole, Phoenix Suns President Brad Casper and US Airways President Scott Kirby. The agenda also featured two dozen educational sessions featuring leading airport executives, senior FAA and TSA officials, and representatives from key suppliers.

The 85th Annual AAAE Conference & Exposition will take place May 19-22, 2013, in Reno, Nevada. Reno-Tahoe International Airport will host the event.

# # #  

ABOUT AAAE: Founded in 1928, AAAE ( is the world's largest professional organization representing the men and women who work at public-use commercial and general aviation airports. AAAE's 5,000-plus members represent some 850 airports and hundreds of companies and organizations that support the airport industry. Headquartered in Alexandria, Va., AAAE serves its membership through results-oriented representation in Washington, D.C., and delivers a wide range of industry services and professional development opportunities, including training, conferences, and a highly respected accreditation program.

ABOUT Bruce Carter: Bruce Carter started his aviation career in 1975 as an FBO fueler and later became a charter pilot in Mankato, Minnesota.  In 1978, he was hired as an air traffic controller until the PATCO strike in 1981. Bruce owned a Fixed Based Operation in Clarion, IA, before becoming involved in the airport management field in 1984 when he became the Operations Manager at the Waterloo Airport. In 1986, he became the Airport Director at Waterloo Airport. He was Director of Aviation in Springfield, Illinois, for three years and Director of Airports in Peoria, Illinois, for five years.  Since 1999, Mr. Carter has served as the Director of Aviation at the Quad City International Airport.  Mr. Carter is an Accredited Airport Executive (AAE) and has served as President of the Great Lakes Chapter of AAAE, chaired the NAC and the Airport Ground Handling Association (AGSA). He currently serves on the Executive Committee of the American Association of Airport Executives as Chair, as well as serving on the International Association of Airport Executives.   Mr. Carter is also a commercial pilot, holding an instrument and multi-engine rating, and was previously a certified flight instructor logging over 2800 hours.  Mr. Carter is married to Faith Carter and they have two grown sons and two grandchildren.